Douglas County Library System (Oregon)

Loading palette preview Loading

About Us

The Douglas County Library System, formed in 1955, consists of the Douglas County Central Library in Roseburg and ten branch libraries located throughout the county. A partnership between the County, which supplies the staff, collection and computer network and the cities, who own and maintain the buildings has been a benefit to the citizens of Douglas County.

The Douglas County Library System is a department of Douglas County, serving a population of 107,667. For many years the library system has been funded by federal timber payments by way of the Douglas County general fund.

Our friendly and professional staff is eager to serve you. Welcome to the Douglas County Library System!

Our Mission

The Douglas County Library System provides free access to information, ideas, books and technology that enrich, educate and empower every individual in our communities.

Douglas County Library System Advisory Board

The Douglas County Library System Advisory Board is an advisory body that assists and advises the Library Director and the Board of Commissioners on matters concerning the library. In addition the board makes policy and budget recommendations to the Board of Commissioners.

Library Policies

Library policies and behavior guidelines may be viewed here.